Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mivascript usage beyond Miva Merchant

Hello everyone,

I'm quite new to Miva in terms of programming abilities, though I've been tinkering with it on and off for a few years in a completely non-commercial "This is fun" manner every now and then. I've always felt somewhat held back though by the frankly horrendous state of the documentation for Miva until mivascript.com came along and made it A LOT easier to get behind the code (Though it still has to be said there is still a long way to go yet before new developers can come along and pick Miva up without a struggle as there is still quite a lot missing).

Recently a situation has cropped up that has made me sit down and look at Miva with a view to "Doing something serious" with it. By way of quick explanation, I am a soldier and we need a facility to manage the parcels and letters well wishing members of the public send to anonymous soldiers in our unit when we are posted abroad (We get a lot). Unfortunately they are generally intended for a random individual so they are posted to "A soldier on the front line" or "An anonymous soldier" or something like that which makes distributing them out fairly and working out who got what a nightmare. What I would like to do is make our welfare team an app in Miva that would allow them to index, label and assign who gets what and how many so they are equally shared.

It's not a big ask for a Mivascript/MySQL setup and it would be a pretty trivial web app. However as I started to work on it I became very curious to know why there aren't many other websites and web apps out there built in Mivascript beyond the Merchant product.