XSS issue with error message on NTFD page

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

XSS issue with error message on NTFD page

Our vulnerability scanner figured out that we had an XSS issue on our NTFD page. Basically the system-generated error message was printing g.Screen without encoding entities.

I dug around all over the place looking for a spot where I could change the error message from &mvt to &mte but I couldn't find it, so I ended up just testing if the page is NTFD, and if so I print my own message. But is there a way to correct the actual system-generated message?

My new code, located in my global header, is:
    Code:
    <mvt:if expr="g.Error_Message_Count">
        <mvt:if expr="l.settings:page:code NE 'NTFD'">
               <mvt:item name="messages" />
        <mvt:else>
            We're sorry, that page no longer exists.
        </mvt:if>
    Looking for work as of March 2024! I've been a web developer for going on 20 years, with most of that time spent on Miva sites.

Re: XSS issue with error message on NTFD page

Originally posted by Mike521w View Post
    Our vulnerability scanner figured out that we had an XSS issue on our NTFD page. Basically the system-generated error message was printing g.Screen without encoding entities.

I dug around all over the place looking for a spot where I could change the error message from &mvt to &mte but I couldn't find it, so I ended up just testing if the page is NTFD, and if so I print my own message. But is there a way to correct the actual system-generated message?

My new code, located in my global header, is:
    Code:
    <mvt:if expr="g.Error_Message_Count">
        <mvt:if expr="l.settings:page:code NE 'NTFD'">
            We're sorry, that page no longer exists.
    Hey When you say system-generated message are you talking about the default message IE " The item you requested is not available at this time." I think I am a little lost as to what you mean can you clarify a bit more.