Modify Miva SEO Short Link Functionality

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Modify Miva SEO Short Link Functionality

I'm pretty new to Miva development, and I'm looking for areas where I can tweak functionality with a module where I previously would customize things in the template language. One such area is in the SEO short links. All I want to do is add a simple modification to the built-in module for product links. Instead of:

domain.com/product/code.html

I want:

domain.com/product/code/name.html

I found a file in the LSK called seo_include.mv which has a function called SEOSettings_Product_URL_with that I can easily edit to make this change, but it looks like that file is included by half a dozen other modules that build links. I hadn't planned to customize that many modules and am assuming there's a simpler way to do this that I just don't know about. I really wished that seo_include.mv was actually a standalone helper module that I could customize as a single point to make this change.

I've seen references in this forum to lots of other modules that exist for short links, so maybe this whole idea is overkill. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Josh

Re: Modify Miva SEO Short Link Functionality

Your going to be better off not modifying the module file itself and instead making this change via the .htaccess file. The only trade off, is you will need to manually update your links in the page template to this new structure. The other issue you'll have is with the product name, there are usually characters that cannot be used in URLs and you'll want to remove spaces and replace with dashes.

You'll need to modify your .htaccess file to support the URL structure you're looking for.

Code:
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-s
    RewriteRule ^/product/([^/.]+)/([^/.]+).html$ /mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_code=$1 [QSA,L]